WhatsApp Introduces New Privacy Features

Posted on August 9, 2022 by Laurent Giret in Cloud, Social with 0 Comments

WhatsApp has announced today some new privacy features that will give users more control over their online presence and group memberships. Among the new features that will start to roll out this month include the ability to select who can see when you’re online.

As of today, the only way to see when a WhatsApp contact is online is to open the conversation you have with that person. The “online” indicator appears below your contact’s name only when your contact is using the app at the same time as you. Soon, WhatsApp will let you choose to only allow people who can see your “Last seen” status (this can be set to Nobody) to see you as online.

The second new privacy coming to WhatsApp later this month is the ability to leave Groups silently. “Now, instead of notifying the full group when you are leaving, only the admins will be notified,” the company explained.

Lastly, WhatsApp will add the ability to block screenshots for View Once messages, which are set to disappear from the chat right after being opened. “To spread the word about these new layers of protection, we’re also kicking off a campaign to educate people about the new features and our continued commitment to protecting your private conversations on WhatsApp, the company said today.

Tagged with