Surface Pro 4 or HP Spectre x360 (or other)

Hi everyone

I’m looking for some real-world usage feedback.

I’m in the market for a portable PC.

As an IT pro I have a PC at home which I use as a VM lab and a development/learning workstation.

I have a work-issued laptop that I use for work.

But I can’t use my work laptop for personal use so when I’m travelling I rely on a Surface RT (don’t judge me) and an iPad Mini.

I’ll be attending some training and conferences through the year so the time has come to get a laptop.

I’ve pretty much narrowed it down to a Surface Pro 4 i5/8GiB/256GB or a 13″ HP Spectre x360 i7/8GiB/256GB.

My only reservation is whether the dual core chips are sufficient to run the occasional VM or docker image? I won’t need a full lab but it’s sometimes useful to spin something up for demo purposes.

Have any of you used either or both of these machines for this kind of work? How do they perform? Which do you prefer? Or is there another, better option you would recommend?

Thanks in advance!

.Dave

Conversation 19 comments

• Polycrastinator

07 April, 2017 - 9:45 am

<p>I've used Hyper-V on an original Surface Pro(!) and as long as you don't ask too much of it, it's fine (in my case, basic Server 2008r2 VM as an emergency imaging server at a client site). With Hyper Threading, you can shoot 2 logical cores at a VM, and it's fine. As long as you're not expecting too much from it.</p><p>Depending on the environments you work in, I'd think about how much you put your laptop in your lap. I find even with the improved "lappability" of the SP3/SP4, I can't use them on my lap well, they're just too awkward. If you're always sitting at a table, that's just fine, but if you're stuck on a bench working somewhere on a regular basis, I would look at the HP instead.</p>

• DaveHelps

Premium Member
      07 April, 2017 - 12:21 pm