Why I didn’t contribute to Surface Growth in 2020

I am a big Microsoft customer and have 2 Surface devices (Go and Laptop 3). During the pandemic my wife has been working from home and using her old mac laptop, which broke and now we share my SL3 in addition to my PC desktop. I use the Go at work because my work laptop is big and not pen enabled. I am an engineer so sketching and using full Excel while walking around the lab is very convenient.

From my standpoint the Surface product line up does not offer any substantial improvements to what I am currently using. If the Go 2 had instant on and great battery life maybe I’d upgrade, but the Pro X is too big and expensive. I’m not interested in a Pro 7 because I know the “couch typing” experience is not good. I would pay to put 10X on my Go, but it doesn’t look like that is going to happen any time soon.

With how intense the chipset competition is I am hoping there will be new devices in the next 18 months with significantly improved mobility (maybe Alder Lake), or an acceptably performant ARM chip.

Did anyone else look at buying a new Surface device in 2020? What did you decide?

Conversation 11 comments

• fpalmieri

28 January, 2021 - 9:24 am

<p>I had posted earlier about best Surface for note taking with a pen / OneNote for my daughters (college and recent graduate) and advice on which Surface to buy – their existing Windows (HP Envy touchscreen) laptops are hooked up to a big monitor, keyboard, mouse, etc. for video meetings, etc. so not easy to take notes with – both wanted to stick with Windows. Overwhelming advice was to buy an iPad – which we ended up doing (basic iPad and iPad Air with respective Pencil's). Short answer is they are working well for both and they are happy with purchase. I'm not happy from a "I really wanted a Surface to work" but it was the correct choice. This is a use case that the Surface should be the Windows alternative and it should be a slam dunk what to choose. </p>