question about Intel 7th gen and Windows 11

I’m confused by Microsoft officially supporting some 7th gen Intel chips but not others. My understanding is, they had to do lots of compatibility and reliability testing in order to give those few 7th gen chips the “official support” rubber stamp, but why wouldn’t the rest of the 7th gen Intel chips also be included then? If a few 7th gen chips are officially supported, that should mean all 7th gen chips should be officially supported. Is there anyone that can explain? I am far from an expert as you can see, I’m just curious.

Eager to hear responses 🙂

Conversation 19 comments

• jimchamplin

Premium Member
    31 August, 2021 - 1:22 pm

<p>It runs fine. </p><p><br></p><p>I’ve seen it running as a daily driver on 3rd and 4th gen chips and it runs more smoothly than 10 on all of them. I have it running on a weak little A5 APU powered ThinkPad and it’s perfectly fine there as well. </p>

• willr

31 August, 2021 - 3:07 pm

<p>But why are only a few of the 7th gen chips getting official support? What’s the difference? No one is explaining this</p>

• moop

02 September, 2021 - 1:36 am