Google to Allow Auto-Deleting of Location History and Activity Data

Posted on May 1, 2019 by Paul Thurrott in Cloud, Google with 13 Comments

In a move that appears aimed at appeasing privacy-conscious antitrust regulators, Google today said it will limit how long it stores your location and activity data.

“When you turn on settings like Location History or Web & App Activity, the data can make Google products more useful for you—like recommending a restaurant that you might enjoy, or helping you pick up where you left off on a previous search,” a new post to Google’s Safety and Security blog explains. “We work to keep your data private and secure, and we’ve heard your feedback that we need to provide simpler ways for you to manage or delete it.”

Today, Google account holders can access on/off controls for both location history and web and application activity data. And they can choose to delete all or part of that data at any time. But now Google is saying that it will provide new auto-delete controls that will automatically remove this data over set periods of time.

“Choose a time limit for how long you want your activity data to be saved—3 or 18 months—and any data older than that will be automatically deleted from your account on an ongoing basis,” Google says.

This functionality will roll out for both location history and web and application activity data in the coming weeks, Google says.

Tagged with

Elevate the Conversation!

Join Thurrott Premium to enjoy our Premium comments.

Premium member comments on news posts will feature an elevated status that increases their visibility. This tab would allow you to participate in Premium comments with other premium members. Register to join the other Premium members in elevating the conversation!

Register or Subscribe

Join the discussion!

BECOME A THURROTT MEMBER:

Don't have a login but want to join the conversation? Become a Thurrott Premium or Basic User to participate

Register