Google Now Lets You Automatically Delete Your Location History Data

Posted on June 26, 2019 by Mehedi Hassan in Google with 8 Comments

Back in May, Google introduced the ability to auto-delete your personal data from its servers every 3 months or 18 months. The company first started off with Web Activity data, letting users automatically delete their web activity and search history from Google every 3 months or 18 months.

Today, the feature is being expanded to support location history data. That means you will now be able to automatically delete your location history data that Google collects every 3 months or 18 months. Or you can simply set it to delete manually whenever you want.

Google has so far introduced the auto-delete functionality only for Location History and Web Activity data, though it will likely expand the feature to other types of data. The auto-delete functionality is really useful if you don’t want Google to keep hold of your data for ages but still want to make use of the recommendations and features that are made possible with the use of your personal data. It will be interesting to see if Google builds on this and gives users even more control over their data in the future.

Tagged with ,

Elevate the Conversation!

Join Thurrott Premium to enjoy our Premium comments.

Premium member comments on news posts will feature an elevated status that increases their visibility. This tab would allow you to participate in Premium comments with other premium members. Register to join the other Premium members in elevating the conversation!

Register or Subscribe

Join the discussion!

BECOME A THURROTT MEMBER:

Don't have a login but want to join the conversation? Become a Thurrott Premium or Basic User to participate

Register