Apple Kills Off Back to My Mac in Mojave

Posted on August 22, 2018 by Paul Thurrott in Mac and macOS with 6 Comments

Once touted as a key feature of the Mac platform, Back to My Mac will be killed off in the next release, macOS Mojave.

“Back to My Mac will not be available on macOS Mojave,” an Apple support document explains. “You can get ready now by learning about alternatives for file access, screen sharing, and remote desktop access.”

Apple launched Back to My Mac with Mac OS X Leopard way back in 2007. It provided a way for users to access files remotely from a Mac that was connected to the Internet. The feature is old enough that it originally required a subscription to MobileMe, which you’ll recall launched alongside the original iPhone that year.

“Back to My Mac uses Bonjour networking technology so that when you’re on the road, you’ll see your other computers in the Shared section of the Finder sidebar, just as if you were at home,” an older version of Apple’s documentation noted. “You can even access the files stored on your Time Capsule or a hard disk connected to an AirPort Extreme Base Station with 802.11n technology.”

Since then, of course, Apple has transitioned to iCloud and has released its own Remote Desktop app for the Mac. And as Apple now notes, Macs also natively support screen sharing for remote control purposes as well.

Apple’s macOS Mojave launches next month and is a free upgrade for existing customers with compatible Macs.

Elevate the Conversation!

Join Thurrott Premium to enjoy our Premium comments.

Premium member comments on news posts will feature an elevated status that increases their visibility. This tab would allow you to participate in Premium comments with other premium members. Register to join the other Premium members in elevating the conversation!

Register or Subscribe

Join the discussion!

BECOME A THURROTT MEMBER:

Don't have a login but want to join the conversation? Become a Thurrott Premium or Basic User to participate

Register