Today’s the day: As promised, Google is no longer automatically syncing photos between its Drive and Photos services.
“Many of you store your photos and videos on both Google Drive and Google Photos, which keeps them safe and easy to access,” the Google Photos blog announced last month. “We’ve heard feedback that the connection between these services is confusing, so next month, we’re making some changes to simplify the experience across Drive and Photos.”
As of today, new photos and videos added to Google Drive will no longer automatically appear in Photos. Likewise, new photos and videos added to Google Photos will not be added to the Photos folder in Drive too. So, you delete photos and videos in Drive, they will not be removed from Photos. And vice versa.
You can still copy photos between the two services, and Google’s Backup & Sync desktop client now supports uploading photos to Google Photos in addition to Drive. But when you copy photos from Google Photos to Drive, or vice versa, they will take up twice as much storage space, since there will be one copy in both services. (Note the change in how deleting works above.)
There’s also a new Send to Photos option in Google Drive on the web that will let you copy (and thus duplicate) photos between the services.
Tagged with Google Drive