Netflix Now Lets You Transfer Your Profile to a New Account

Posted on October 18, 2022 by Laurent Giret in Music + Videos, Netflix with 2 Comments

Netflix is launching a new Profile Transfer feature that will allow users with a shared account to transfer their profile to a new account. The company claims that it has been a “much requested feature,” and it should be especially useful when Netflix subscribers no longer want to share their passwords with others.

With Profile Transfer, users on a shared account will be able to move all their personal information to a new Netflix account: This includes personalized recommendations, viewing history, personal watchlists, saved games, and other settings.

Netflix says that subscribers will be notified by email when Profile Transfer becomes available on their account. The feature can also be turned off in account settings so it won’t appear when you hover over your profile icon.

Profile Transfer

The announcement of this new Profile Transfer feature comes just a couple of months after Netflix started testing a paid alternative to password sharing in Chile, Costa Rica, and Peru. The experiment allowed subscribers in these markets to pay extra to share their subscriptions with people outside of their households.

If this new Profile Transfer feature is just another tool to curb password sharing, Netflix is also set to launch a cheaper ad-supported plan on November 3. The new Netflix Basic with Ads plan will be priced at $6.99/month in the US, and Netflix said that subscribers will see an average of 4 to 5 minutes of ads every hour.

Tagged with