Facebook changed how it shares posts

Avatar
7

Paul, if you’re looking for a scoop, I haven’t seen anyone report on this yet. Facebook has changed the way it shares posts. I run a FB page and we frequently post links to news articles with our commentary about the news article as part of the post.

Previously, if one of our followers shared our post, they would share our entire post. This means not only our commentary but the name and link to our FB page (in addition to the link to the news article).

Starting apparently yesterday, if one of our followers shares one of these posts, only the link to the news article is shared. Our commentary is stripped from the shared post. Also, the name and link to our Facebook page is stripped from the post.

This is huge to FB content authors because having our readers share our posts is a great way to build name recognition and possibly gain new followers. Now this is gone.

Yes, there is a way to override the default behavior, but realistically, nobody is going to do this. As an example, we recently posted something that has received 14 shares. Normally, that means the name of our FB page would be included in all 14 shares. But not a single user clicked the checkbox to override the default behavior. So, we lost 14 opportunities to expose the name of our FB page to new people.

Hopefully, FB is only beta-testing this. But if you run the type of FB page I do, this is a huge blow to us building a bigger audience.

Post Reply