Any devs using 13" Surface Book 3 or Surface Laptop 3 with i7?

Any devs out there using a 13″ SB3 or SL3 with an i7? How’s the fan noise and battery life with your typical dev workflow?

I’ve been using a SB2 13″ with the 7th gen i5 for the past two years. It’s not my daily driver, but I do use it for dev work when working from the recliner in the evening or when traveling. I hate fan noise and value long battery life, so I picked the i5 over the i7 when making my SB2 purchase. The 2 core i5, and to some degree 8 GB RAM, is admittedly not the best set up for dev work, but I manage to make it work.

With the sales Microsoft has going on with SB3 and Surface Laptop, I’m seriously thinking about picking up a new laptop and selling my SB2. I’d again prefer an i5. The 10th gen 4 core i5 in the SB3 seems more than enough for a dev workload. The 8 GB of RAM is a bummer, but again, I don’t think that has been as big of a problem as the 2 cores of the 7th gen i5 in the SB2. I wish Microsoft would make an i5 model of SB3 with 16 GB of RAM. $400 just to get 8 more GB of RAM is tough to swallow. I’m also worried the fan noise of an i7 would be annoying and the battery life would not be nearly as good as I’m getting with the SB2 with the i5.