Migrating from free G-Suite to Microsoft 365 – Why is it so difficult?

If I’m going to pay someone for my custom emails, it sure isn’t going to be google.

Unfortunately, Microsoft 365 Family, which I have, will only allow 1 custom domain (maybe per person?) but only if you use GoDaddy. Maybe M365 Business Basic allows more than 1 domain and non-GoDaddy registrars? But what counts as a “user”? Can I even convert the family plan to a business plan?

I would ask Microsoft, but all of their support options punt me to the “help” page, which is spectacularly unhelpful.

At this point I’m more inclined to use MailRoute and the Hover email offering. I’m open to suggestions if anyone has any.

Conversation 11 comments

• dougkinzinger

13 June, 2022 - 1:45 pm

<p>BitTitan MigrationWiz. I’m a 365 admin by trade and have done a few Google-to-365 migrations for SMBs. It’s decently priced and works well.</p>

• dougkinzinger

13 June, 2022 - 1:47 pm

<p>And no, you cannot convert a family plan to a business, though both are great for the right needs / use cases.</p>

• VMax

Premium Member
    14 June, 2022 - 1:57 am