Google Accidentally Resets Routers To Default Configuration

Posted on February 24, 2017 by Brad Sams in Hardware with 41 Comments

Google makes and sells several different hardware products, including routers. If during the past 24 hours you have experienced any oddities with your Google account or your Google access points like OnHub or WiFi, the company has offered an explanation.

Google says that on February 23rd, there was an issue with its Account engine that may have impacted its Google Wifi and OnHub products. The result? This caused all of the devices to reset to the initial configuration as if the products were new out of the box.

Aside from the annoyance that this caused as those who customized the settings now have to re-setup their environment, it is much more interesting that Google can remotely reset your router without your consent. Bug or not, this type of ‘feature’ may not sit well with those who have purchased the product expecting a high-level of privacy.

While Google does not explicitly say this in their support post, yesterday, I had to re-login to all my Google accounts on my phone and desktop which appears to be related to this issue. If you experienced this problem, know that it was not your account being compromised but an issue related to Google’s Accounts engine.

If you need to reconfigure your Google routers, you can check out the support documentation, here.

Tagged with , , ,

Elevate the Conversation!

Join Thurrott Premium to enjoy our Premium comments.

Premium member comments on news posts will feature an elevated status that increases their visibility. This tab would allow you to participate in Premium comments with other premium members. Register to join the other Premium members in elevating the conversation!

Register or Subscribe

Join the discussion!

BECOME A THURROTT MEMBER:

Don't have a login but want to join the conversation? Become a Thurrott Premium or Basic User to participate

Register

Register for this Webinar