Twitter’s New Unmentioning Feature Lets Users Leave Conversations

Posted on July 12, 2022 by Laurent Giret in Cloud, Social with 0 Comments

Twitter has started rolling out a new “Unmentioning” feature that let users remove themselves from a conversation where they’ve been mentioned. The new feature has been in testing with select users since April and it’s now rolling out to all users on all platforms.

To leave a conversation, users will need to click on the ellipsis button on a tweet from a thread where they’ve been mentioned and then click on “Leave this conversation.” Doing so will untag their username from the original tweet and all replies, and all future mentions and notifications will also be blocked.

If Twitter is definitely a place where you can have meaningful conversations with random people, it’s also quite easy to get spammed by a conversation you no longer want to be a part of. If you decide to use this new Unmentioning feature, it’s worth pointing out that no one else will be notified that you left the conversation.

Despite all the ongoing drama that followed Elon Musk’s attempt to acquire Twitter, the company has been experimenting with several new features in the past couple of weeks. Select users can now choose who can see their tweets with a new “Circle” feature, and Twitter is also testing allowing two users to co-author a tweet.

Tagged with

Join the discussion!

BECOME A THURROTT MEMBER:

Don't have a login but want to join the conversation? Become a Thurrott Premium or Basic User to participate

Register
Comments (0)

Leave a Reply